SPAAM Collectors Forum
Welcome to The SPAAM Collectors Forum!

SPorts Autographs And Memorabilia

Create a FREE account to get full access to the forum!

Nike Full-Sized Signature Football - Issues

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Nike Full-Sized Signature Football - Issues

Post by airj1012 on Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:55 pm

I'm new to the autograph collection group and I'm having problems with my first signed football.

My ball is a Virginia Tech Nike Full-Sized Signature Football (http://www.gobblergear.com/nike_football_p/000719.htm). I received the ball earlier this spring. The ball sits in a protective case - Steiner Sports Glass Football Case. The glass is supposedly UV protected - [You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

However I'm starting to see problems with my ball. There is some discoloration around the seems of the ball. This only appears to be happened on the left side of the ball (closest to the window in the room). The ball does sit in a room with that receives sunlight, but the ball is never within direct sunlight.

I brought the ball into a local merchant that works with memorabilia and he said that it looks like the paint is just chipping off and it tends to happen with these types of balls. He said that I could touch up ball with white shoe polish and a q-tip. Then I could spray the ball with a quick shot of hair spray to prevent any additional damage.

Has anybody experienced these same problems? Whats wrong with my ball? Are the tips I received good?

I'm looking at getting a second autographed ball in the near future, but would love to avoid these problems going forward. Thanks for the help. Pictures are below.

[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]

airj1012
Sports Fan
Sports Fan

SPAAM Cash : 9

Back to top Go down

Re: Nike Full-Sized Signature Football - Issues

Post by FourFeathers on Tue Nov 13, 2012 12:31 am